Employee ownership: Engagement

If employee ownership (specifically taking ownership for an idea) is an effective strategy in change processes, why is it so often ignored? Part of what makes an organization are the people who work to make things happen (i.e. products and services) It therefore only makes sense that they (i.e. employees and other key stakeholders) would be involved in matters that affect them. The problem though is that our world largely operatives under a capitalist narrative which I would argue favours hierarchical structures. I recently read an article that notes that “research shows workplace hierarchies deliver practical and psychological value” (Zimmerman, 2014). I am not sure I agree with this statement. That being said, my knowledge on this is very limited as I am yet  to explore this further. Nevertheless, personally, I am no fan of hierarchies.

Leave a Reply

