Leadership vs. Management

I found this video particularly inspiring. How I wish I would see more leaders and less managers. I have been blessed to have been influenced by some great leaders and it was then I realized the lived experience of the difference between leadership and management. I recall one particular supervisor I had that encouraged me to make a presentation to prospective clients. She believed in me even when I did not believe in myself. What an incredible growth experience this was. On a similar note, the guest speaker in class also left me with a lot to think about. “I fired my boss”. I liked that :).

This statement in the video resonated: “Did I help somebody today accomplish what they thought they couldn’t?” (Godin, 2013). I feel that Godin speaks to the tenets of servant leadership that I particularly favour. Certainly, in change processes I have found that leadership is pivotal to realizing effective change.

Leave a Reply

