Are Employee owned companies the way of the future?

I watched this great video on worker cooperatives and all I can say is that I personally would be a lot more fulfilled by working in an environment where everyone’s voice counts. There are certainly challenges to worker owned companies. For instance, collective decision making can be challenging, it has it’s ups and downs, but I would argue this is a lot better than being controlled by other individuals who may not even have their stakeholders best interests at heart. We live in a world that is focused on maximizing profits at all costs and what this has in turn is created greater inequalities. If I may add, as things stand, it is not a world I would be proud to live my children in. I would rather live my children in a world that embraces diversity, values diverse opinions, organizations that are committed to leaving this world better than they found it and it seems to me that cooperatives may be the way forward.

Leave a Reply

